About Health Inspection Scores

The San Francisco Department of Public Health's policy is to routinely inspect every food establishment twice a year. Inspections are judged on 74 different health codes, which are categorized based on risk to customers or the public. A restaurant's health score is based on the combination of low-, moderate- and high-risk violations found during its inspection.

Related Articles

About Michelin Stars

Michelin stars are the benchmark in gourmet dining. Each year, judges across the country award one, two or three stars to select restaurants for their culinary excellence.

Started more than 100 years ago, Michelin guides were meant to give motorists information about various areas of the country. But over the years, the stars given out have become some of the most highly coveted commendations in the culinary world.

Michelin Restaurants in the Mission

Saison was the only restaurant to receive a Michelin star this year. Since Michelin began rating San Francisco restaurants in 2006, Range (inspection score = 96) had been the only Mission District restaurant to be recognized, but it lost its star this year.

*Note: These scores are current as of November 20, 2010. For the most updated health inspection information, visit the Department of Public Health's website.

Leave a comment

Please keep your comments short and civil. Do not leave multiple comments under multiple names on one article. We will zap comments that fail to adhere to these short and very easy-to-follow rules.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *