Patricia , Cashier/shopkeeper, K&D Market

I’m working here five years now, but I live in Daly City. Today, I got in at around 12 and get off at around 8. Right now, I’m separating coins.

Normally it’s really quiet. Somedays, there are crazy people. But usually, it’s okay.
Around 6 to 7, it’s crazy. We sell a lot of beers and wines.

I like it better when it’s crowded. Otherwise it’s really boring..being here, standing. I like it, but I guess I’ve been doing it too many years. I need to change my job.

I would like to teach preschool. But it takes time. I have one kid; she’s eight. Since I’ve left my country–I’m from Peru–I’ve [wanted] to be a teacher. I like kids.

I’ve been in the US 12 years. My dad lived here five years before us. My mom wanted to be with him. My friends were excited, but they’re waiting for me to come back.

I went and visited my family, my grandparents [in Lima]. You cannot walk with anything in your hands, or they will rob everything. They rob too much. Every corner, really. That’s Lima..maybe other states it’s better. But not Lima. You need to hide everything there.

I arrived [in the US] May 19th. I was really scared. It was a new country, new language, new people. Everything changed. But I like it. My country’s so dangerous. I could not live there anymore.

Follow Us

Reporter at Mission Local. Writer at Google.

Leave a comment

Please keep your comments short and civil. Do not leave multiple comments under multiple names on one article. We will zap comments that fail to adhere to these short and very easy-to-follow rules.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *